top of page
  • katiepickering2001

Engaging With Models on Photoshoots

Some of the models that I work with are not professional and don’t do it full time. Therefore, my direction is important to them to perform on shoots as they may not be too comfortable in front of the camera. The way I do this is having a mood board available to look at all times for pose inspiration. If I capture a shot that is particularly good, I will praise them which always makes them feel more comfortable and that they are doing it right. Usually, by the end of the photo shoot, they are enjoying themselves and I am able to capture some natural poses that always end up being the best.


Conversing with people each time I shoot is the most enjoyable part for me as well as taking a good picture because not only does it make the person feel better about the pressure of being photographed, I am able to get an insight into each individual’s lives. Sometimes it even opens up a new opportunity to work with more people as the model can often recommend someone that they know that would be happy modelling for me.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Scouting Models

As the fashion photography and model community is recovering from covid, the industry is very competitive at the moment. Therefore, I decided against working with modelling agencies as they weren’t of

bottom of page