top of page
  • katiepickering2001

Scouting Models

Updated: May 2, 2022

As the fashion photography and model community is recovering from covid, the industry is very competitive at the moment. Therefore, I decided against working with modelling agencies as they weren’t offering test shoots. Instead, I had to think of other ways to get in contact with people that would be willing to be a part of my project.


The ways I did this was:


· Send a DM on Instagram to anyone that looked like they would fit the criteria of my work explaining what the project is about, where the shoot would take place and when, a mood board, and what they would get from it which was usually the best images from the shoot edited by me.

· A model call on Facebook- lots of responses came from this method.

· Scouting around the university campus and approaching people asking them if they would like to be a part of my project.


Each method proved successful. However, the downside to working with people is that you have to be prepared for them to cancel last minute or have to reschedule which sometimes can push the photographing process back and also means having to cancel studio bookings that have already been made.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Engaging With Models on Photoshoots

Some of the models that I work with are not professional and don’t do it full time. Therefore, my direction is important to them to perform on shoots as they may not be too comfortable in front of the

bottom of page